DAY 1

I woke up rather excited today.  Excited to no longer be able to shove whatever I want down my gob?  I measured and weighed myself, then I got my husband to take the dreaded ‘before’ picture.  What I saw was totally devastating.  I had NO IDEA (!!!) that’s what I looked like.  I had a very sad moment where my wonderful husband tried to comfort me.  Then a light came on – if that’s not motivation, then I don’t know what is!  It’s time to take back my health!  I might print that photo and look at it periodically!

I also posted on Facebook that I was doing this challenge in order to let as many people know what I’m doing and hopefully motivate me to stick with it.  I rarely finish a project, and I really don’t want this to get given up in a few days time.

fbsupport

Meal  1 consisted of 2 1/2 eggs (Z had the other half of that third egg for her breakfast), Sliced and fried zucchini and mushroom.  2 Large Olives

2014-02-22 07.55.03

We then went to the Farmer’s Market, where I questioned all the meat I bought or intended to.  I was hoping that between the two Beef Jerky producers, one would NOT use any sugar in their recipes, but unfortunately they did.  I was able to find sugarless organic bacon however, which might show up in tomorrow’s breakfast!

Z and I then rounded up the grocery list by going to the supermarket, where I was surprised to find a section of organic meat, including whole chickens and parts, beef and pork.  I got a little discouraged that the only deli meat I could find without sugar was prosciutto bleurgh!  but I got some anyways.  I even found hot dogs that fit my meal plan!  HOT DOGS!  For the amount of things on my list, this grocery took a bit of time cause I had to read all the labels before I would finally decide to add it to the basket.  Did you know that the supermarket has about 8 different types of chicken broth?  Organic, all natural, 25% reduced sodium, full on sodium blah blah blah, but none of them without sugar.  I guess I’ll be making my own broth then!

Meal 2 consisted of a salad with chicken thighs, Macadamia nuts, strawberries, two large olives and an EVOO with garlic salt and pepper dressing.  Simple as that!

2014-02-22 12.10.50

I had some snacks in the afternoon – almonds, carrots and tomatoes, although snacking is frowned upon, the first few days is acceptable in order to figure out how much I should eat during Meals.  Clearly I hadn’t eaten enough for my second meal!

Meal 3 consisted of a Ground Beef and Broccoli stir-fry on a bed of spinach I took from the “It Starts with Food” Meal Guide.

2014-02-22 17.44.09

I might print this and put it up on my fridge Tough Love from Whole9 blog

It’s not that effing hard. (Yes, I wanted to throw an f-bomb in there.) Don’t you dare tell me this is hard. Giving up heroin is hard. Drinking your coffee black is. Not. Hard. Substituting Sunday morning French toast in favour of a giant omelette and side of crispy bacon is not hard. Eating fresh, delicious fruits and vegetables every day is not hard. So I don’t want to hear one single complaint. You won’t get any coddling from me on this one, you won’t get any sympathy for your “struggles”, and you won’t get any second chances. Not in my house. It’s thirty days, and it’s for the most important cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime. So shut up and do it.

Et voila! Day 1 completed and successful!  29 more to go!

Leave a Reply

