Day 2 – Things I Said NO To!

I woke up hungry this morning.  Which is a good sign.  Anyone of you who wakes up and doesn’t need to eat until 10am – there is something wrong with your body.  You should WANT to eat first thing in the morning.

I also woke up tired – but that’s because Z didn’t sleep well last night, well in her defense she probably slept well, I didn’t sleep well cause she was thrashing around in the middle of my bed and hitting me in the face with every movement.  I had enough room to lay there, but forget turning over!  I was a little cranky this morning – but surprise surprise! that’s normal!

My Whole30 e-Mail today was about finding support and setting myself up for success

My first support story was in the form of a Facebook message which really warmed my heart:
Inspiration

Meal 1

Image

People always make fun of me for eating spaghetti or pizza for breakfast, but according to the direction the Whole30 is steering me, it’s a great way to start the day.  According to one thread I was reading, people were actually suggesting eating your leftovers for breakfast – finally people who understand me!

I didn’t have leftovers this morning, but I think that if I didn’t have to make little Z’s breakfast, I probably would eat them!

I had 2 1/2 organic eggs with dill and bacon with a side of mushroom.  I heard that organic bacon had a taste needing time to  get  used to, but I didn’t find any difference.

My crankiness faded away after a good shower and hanging some clothes on the line, the weather is spectacular!

Meal 2

Unremarkable meal, basically the same thing as yesterday with extra chicken, some added spinach and cashews instead of macadamia.  It felt like too much, and by the end I really didn’t want to eat anymore.

I didn’t feel the need to snack at all this afternoon which indicated that I had in fact eaten enough for lunch.  I did however go to a 1st birthday party for one of Z’s friends.  Here are things I was able to abstain from:
1. cute as a button CHOCOLATE animal cupcakes

2. Adorably arranged cheese on a grapefruit

3. SPINACH DIP!

4. Deviled eggs

5. Fruit Punch

It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be though, cause I was still feeling full from Lunch and it was only 1430, had it been later on in the afternoon, I might have found the temptation a little harder to resist.

I did have a few strawberries and grapes cause everyone was feeding their kids something, so I thought I’d do the same.

I have to mention that my friend Cynthia was really good about it all!  When she was offering people a glass of punch, she asked me if I wanted a glass of water.  Stating that she supported me and if I wanted water, by GOD! she would get me water!  I really appreciated that!

Meal 3

Image

I took a curry recipe from “It Starts With Food”, but I was underwhelmed.  Firstly, I used lamb.  I thought I liked lamb, but the smell of it while cooking really turned me off of it.  It smelled ‘wooly’.  Is that normal?  I’ve heard people say that before, but I had never experienced it.  I remember eating ground lamb in NZ and it definitely didn’t smell or taste wooly.  And at the price/lbs, I think I’ll stick to ground beef and pork…  The veggies themselves weren’t too bad, but I ended up adding a few extra spices than what was recommended. It’s okay, hubby said he’d eat it as left overs (I don’t remember the last time he had left overs)

There you go! Day 2 complete, only 28 more to go!

3 thoughts on “Day 2 – Things I Said NO To!

  1. nicole says:

    When you’re mentally ready and determined, nothing will stop you from achieving your goal.You can and will do this!

  2. totally feel your smelly lamb comments – i can’t make it myself anymore without feeling sick. better to leave it to the pros and only smell it when it’s fully cooked 🙂

Leave a Reply

