Day 4 – Another New Start

I had such a restless sleep last night that when Z woke me up at 730, I wished for a sleep button, but I got up anyways.

Meal 1

2014-02-25 08.13.59

I felt like some deviled eggs this morning, so I found a recipe here, it’s a little drier than deviled eggs with mayo, but it was still very delicious.  Z had some too and she seemed to like it!  I made the Kale mixture again, but this time I added cashews and a little less salt.

My Whole30 Approved cookbook came in today too! I’m so excited!  Well Fed 2 by Melissa Joulwan, will probably be the basis for my menu for next week. I’m very excited to try new recipes that are completely ok for me to eat.  This might make things a lot easier than having recipes here, there, everywhere.

My only problem is that from a quick flip through the book, I’ve noticed how great the food looks, and how it replicates some non-Paleo/Whole30 compliant food ie: Pizza, Faux Pho, ketchup, etc.  The idea behind Whole30 is to eat whole foods, to help change the way you think about food.  If I can replace pizza with a Paleo/Whole30 compliant pizza, isn’t that cheating a little?  I need to change the ‘Live to Eat’ motto to ‘Eat to Live’  but if I can have sweet potatoes with Ketchup, albeit, healthy ketchup, then I haven’t changed my way of thinking have I?  I’ll give the cookbook a good read and chose the most appropriate recipes, it might be a tough one cause they all look so darn good!

Meal 2

Left overs again with some spinach.  Nothing exciting, so I won’t go into details.

Another thought that’s crossed my mind today: Toothpaste.  Now I don’t swallow my toothpaste, but the sweet taste is still in my mouth.  I absolutely hate the feeling toothpaste leaves in my mouth, like I fell asleep with a candy and everything taste syrupy.  But according to a thread on the Whole30 forum, as long as you don’t swallow your toothpaste you’re fine.   I’ll probably go out looking for a different all natural toothpaste next shopping trip!  Thoughts?

My afternoon was typical, I only lost my temper once or twice, which is really good considering I’m not eating on impulse.

Meal 3

2014-02-25 18.34.08

I put a chicken in the slow cooker for supper, I got the seasoning recipe from 100 Days of Real Food, and I’ll be making Chicken Stock with the carcass.  I also made brussels sprouts (sans butter), and my husband and I’s favourite Sweet Potatoes.  Before finding this recipe, my husband did not like Sweet potatoes, but he’s been hooked and asks for them regularly.  Every time I make a recipe using cinnamon or cumin he gets hopeful that we’ll be eating sweet potatoes for dinner!  I’m a sucker for recipes like that, if only I could find one for brussels sprouts…

I started Crossfit tonight.  I know it’s not recommended in the Whole30 regime as it may be too much for your body, but in all fairness, I’ve been booked in for the training class for a month, and there was no way I was going to wait another 6 weeks.  I ate way too close to my work out.  In all fairness I pigged out on sweet potatoes up to 45 minutes before the work out.  So maybe next time, I’ll try to refrain from seconds.  Those sweet potatoes are just sooo darn good!

I packed some left over chicken and sweet potatoes for my post work out meal.  I definitely didn’t want to eat though, I did it anyways, for the sake of quicker healing?

Now I’m off to finding quick muscle remedies, because I can already feel the pain that tomorrow will bring.

That’s it! Day 4 is done, 26 more to go!

Leave a Reply

