Day 6 – SLEEEEEEP!

I like when i receive information that is pertinent to my immediate solution.  For example.  Last night I was up from 3:45-5:30 with a fussy baby.  I do not do well with being up at night.  I’m cranky, I have little patience, and all I want to do is go back to bed.  Typical, I know.  This morning’s Whole30 e-mail was about the importance of sleep.  You are preaching to the choir guys, because, I KNOW! I keep telling my husband that I don’t know how we’re going to have anymore children, cause I just can’t imagine having to get up every 2 hours to feed, change a diaper, or comfort a toddler.  I have a lot of trouble dealing with sleep insufficiency.  This is also a little humorous considering I’m a shift nurse.  I’m a totally different person when I work nights or days.

Recently it seems that every time something major is happening the next day, I’m up all that night with a fussy baby.  Its probably a coincidence, but it makes me extremely cranky the next day, no matter how hard I try.  For me it’s like being hungover and everyone is just talking too much. Just don’t talk to me.  My poor family are the ones that have to deal with my extreme moodiness, but I try to make it up to them by apologizing, recognizing my moods, and cooking for them.  Nothing makes me happier than making a meal!

Don’t get me wrong this isn’t a rant about being a parent and not sleeping.  This is a rant about not sleeping.  One of the benefits of doing the Whole30 is that by eating whole foods, you should be able to fall asleep faster and stay asleep longer.  No tossing and turning, no midnight snack etc.  Now THAT is a great benefit of eating good foods!

A while back I tried to go to bed and wake up at the same time, which is really a good idea if you don’t do shifts.  I didn’t really know how to juggle the nights and evenings, I had to give that up and try to get as much sleep elsewhere as possible.

I’ve never been one to take naps.  Usually my naps are too long and end up making me feel worst than before I had one.  Since having my daughter though, that’s changed a little.  When she was a few weeks old, I’d nap at the same time as her, but now I try to keep the napping to a minimum.

Meal 1

Just a boring and lonely old omelet!

Just a boring and lonely old omelet!

An omelet seemed like the perfect breakfast this morning.  I fried up some bacon, mushroom, olives and left over chicken with 3 eggs.  I shared it with Z of course.  I feel like she ate more of it than I did.

When she went for a nap, I also attempted to have one, but I did too many things in the interim, and ended up getting about 10 minutes in bed before she woke up… my own fault for not heading straight to bed when the opportunity presented itself.

Meal 2

You guessed it! Left Overs!  Yesterday’s beef stew actually.  It was just as good as last night.

Meal 3

My pictures are really poor quality, I do apologize!

February 27

I’ve had this recipe on the proverbial back burner for a couple of weeks, so I thought I’d whip it out tonight: Chicken Divan.  I got everything ready this afternoon, popped it into the fridge and at 5 cooked it in the oven.  Lots of time to do what I needed to do (read, knit, play with baby) and hardly any time in the kitchen at all!  True to myself, I didn’t follow the recipe 100%, this time because I didn’t have any coriander.  I substituted it with fresh dill and tarragon.

I was a little skeptical about this recipe.  After I bought all the ingredients, I checked out the recipe and actually read the comments.   But one person said they loved it, so that’s the hope I was clinging onto.  It was tasty, the dill and coconut milk go really well together, but it doesn’t have a very strong flavor.  I’d probably make it again, maybe leave the cashews whole and mix everything through instead of having the onion, garlic, cashew mix on top… but I liked it!

I had my second Crossfit class tonight, and realllllly enjoyed it!  I  like the friendly environment.  I like that you don’t just go there with you iPod and ignore everyone.  I especially like that there are trainers to help you along if you’re not doing your forms properly.  I missed that!

I was lucky to have a friend be able to watch the baby while I went too cause hubby works late on Thursday (one of the many reasons he’s not joining me at crossfit 😦 )  I really appreciate it when people are able to help me out!  I’d really be lost without all the support I’ve been given lately!

That’s it for day 6! Night Night!

2 thoughts on “Day 6 – SLEEEEEEP!

Leave a Reply

