Day 16

I decided to pick up a shift at work today.  I wasn’t sure that I was ready or not, but I went in head first!

My first patient had a baby so small I had to ask how much he weighed – I was astounded when they said their baby weighed 5 ounces less than Z did when she was born.  I’ve been handling newborns for almost 4 years and all of a sudden they seemed incredibly small and fragile!  I think I did fairly well for my first day!

My husband spent his first full day alone with Z, and he did great! They went to the Dog park with our mutts, drove around the city, played ball, and he even changed a diaper with snaps! My husband is always reaching for the velcro diapers that I try to use solely for nights as they have a double gusset so baby doesn’t wake up drenched in the morning.

Meal 1

you guessed it! Boiled eggs and Kale – but this morning I added Pecans and raisins to the mix, it was delicious!

During my first morning break I simply drank peppermint tea.  I didn’t feel hungry, but I had packed a banana just in case

Meal 2

I could have taken a photo of last night’s supper, but A. I was at work, and B my lunch had taken quite a ride on the way to work, so the sauce and zucchini noodles were all mixed and didn’t look particularly appetizing.

Meal 3

2014-03-09 18.22.46

I had put on an Sunrise Pork Roast in the slow cooker last night.  The pork needed to cook on low for about 16 hours – and there was no way I was getting up at 2 to do that!  I put it on at 10pm last night, checked on it this morning at 6, and got my husband to turn it off at 2:30.  When I got home I simply collected the juices, and turned the slow cooker to warm.

The recipe is called Italian Pork Roast from Well Fed 2 (of course), but I used one of the alternatives the book suggested.  My Roast didn’t make as much juice as I had hoped, but that was okay, I was the only one using it as a dipping sauce.  It was a little too salty around the edges, but the middle was so tender and delicious!  This is probably the best recipe I’ve ever made in a slow cooker.  I’m not sure if my slow cooker is a little too hot, but I usually have really dry meat from it.

To accompany the roast I made Crisp Collards with pecans and raisins.  This was the first time I was having Collards.  I found them to be a bit bitter, but as I look the recipe over, I may have taken it out of the pot before they were fully cooked.  I’d still have them, but I think I prefer Kale.

Blame it on time change, early morning rising, or working, but I’m exhausted.  I have the whole house to myself for the first time in over a year (hubby took dogs and baby for a walk) and all I want to do is go to bed!

There is another day in the bag!  16 down!

 

Leave a Reply

