Aside

Day 19 – The Stigma of Being Fat

Meal 1

Back to the old boiled eggs and Kale this morning.

Z wasn’t up to having a nap this morning, so I left her in her crib for an hour where she played with her doll and at one point probably tried to doze off, but i decided to check on her.

I got her all ready to go for a walk and put on an episode of Live. Love. Eat. podcast.  I listened to episode 6 with Stacey from Paleo Parents.  Her story was truly inspirational.  One statement she makes that I liked and reflected upon was that in the US, being fat is the only allowable form of discrimination, that by being obese people are generally categorized as being lazy.  She stated that when she was 300+ pounds it wasn’t because she wanted to be, and it wasn’t because she ate 8 big macs per day.   Being overweight, or obese is a product of our diet, it doesn’t  not necessarily mean someone is lazy.

I liked that Stacy admitted that eating Paleo is expensive and made some really good and important points about food stamps in the US and of the cost of eating well.

It was a great episode and I can’t wait to listen to the other podcasts.  I’ve also had an eye on the PaleoParents website but this made me want to look into it more.  After perusing the site a bit I realized that they are the authors of Beyond the Bacon: Paleo Recipes that Respect the Whole Hog, a book I’ve been eyeing for over a month now.  I also downloaded all of her podcasts: The Paleo View.  I think I found a role model!

Meal 2

Left over Quiche from last night which I shared with Z.  For once she didn’t throw everything I gave her to the dogs, I take it that as a compliment that she enjoyed my cooking!

Meal 3

 

Taj Mahal ChickenTonight’s meal was brought to us by Well Fed 2 again.  I made Taj Mahal Chicken with Spaghetti Squash.  I was truly amazed how easily the Spaghetti Squash ‘spaghettied’.  I’m not sure if the squash is supposed to be a little crunchy, but I think next time I might give the squash another 5 minutes in the oven before eating it.  I liked it regardless.

Curry is a comfort food for me.  I must have been 20 the first time I had it, at a mall food court.  I had chosen a medium curry which was WAAAY too spicy for me.  Then I started to buy the VH bottled curries.  The butter chicken was one of my favourite.  Finally I decided to try making it myself, the first recipe I got was for a Tikka Masala.   At the time, I had never cooked with jalapeño and I didn’t know to take the seeds out.  The Tikka Masala was inedible, but I ate it anyways.  I spent the next day in the bathroom in excruciating pain.  I still make the recipe, but now I omit the jalapeño, and the cayenne pepper.

Just this summer I discovered a Thai Food truck in town and made every excuse to follow them around.  They had Red and Green Curries and a couple more I can’t remember the name of.  Indian restaurants were always my go-to if I was eating out.  I simply LOVE curry!

The Taj Mahal Chicken fulfilled my every expectation of curry.  Mild, thick, smooth, and so exquisite.  I didn’t even mind that it wasn’t with rice or naan.  The Spaghetti Squash was a great substitution.

All done another day!

Leave a Reply

