Day 20 – Humility

“Having a low opinion of yourself is not ‘modesty.’ It’s self-destruction. Holding your uniqueness in high regard is not ‘egotism.’ It’s a necessary precondition to happiness and success.” – Bobbe Sommer

It was a restless night of sleep last night.  We are in the middle of a snowstorm and ice pellets were pelting at my rattling windows.  The wind threatened to blow the house down and I tossed and turned.  Finally at 4am, Z woke up and needed rocking, so I spent the next 2 hours in her room reading news articles on my phone. At 5am my Whole30 daily email came in and I actually took the time to read the articles.    I read a really great article by Lexie Kite on the Huffpost called ‘Fitspiration’:Why it isn’t so inspirational.  It made me think a lot about what I am doing and why I am doing it.

After Z was put back down in her crib I went back to bed in time to hear hubby’s alarm go off.  I was able to fall back asleep until Z was up for the day – at 9:30!!!!  Holy cow! I can’t remember the last time I slept till 9:30.  Granted – Time change and all that, but still!!

Meal 1

I made Z some toast with Sunflower Butter, and myself some Boiled eggs, Kale, Bacon and pecans.

Z was ready for another nap at 12:30, so I took the time to make dinner plans for my last week of Whole30.  We will be celebrating with friends next Friday about my impending finish!

Meal 2

I wasn’t hungry until 2pm, but I had left over spaghetti squash and Taj Mahal Chicken while making my grocery list for next week.

I vegged out in front of my lap top until Z got up at 3:30

Meal 3

Yesterday I made Tabbouleh with cauliflower instead of couscous and let it mingle with the oils and herbs for a day.  I had that for supper with Lebanese Meatballs from Well Fed 2.

The Tabbouleh was really good, but I didn’t chop up the parsley  enough, it was almost all I could taste.  Mind you the recipe called for 2 bunches of parsley and I only used one.  I will probably make this again but with a quarter of the parsley.  I also have a whole bunch left over cause my husband will not touch the Tabbouleh with a 10 foot pole.  I also improvised on the Lebanese meatballs cause I couldn’t afford to buy pine nuts, and I had used up all the mint leaves in the tabbouleh.  I was hoping to make gyro sauce to go with the meatballs but I couldn’t find za’atar or aleppo pepper at the grocery store and didn’t get the chance to go to a specialty Mediterranean store.

I did however make the Kickass Ketchup and some Olive Oil Mayo again today, they went really well with the meatballs.

Thanks to my good friend I was able to go to Crossfit tonight even though my husband had to work late.  Driving was absolutely atrocious, but it was worth it for the work out!

20 down, 10 to go!

Leave a Reply

