Day 28 – A Dinner Party for Four!

I didn’t know how I was going to put today together efficiently, but that’s anxiety for you.  The day went very smoothly.  

Meal 1

Boiled eggs and Kale but today I added some apple chunks in!  It was a great discovery! My mom asked me about Kale the other day, she’s heard of it, but hearing me rave about it on here made her curious to try it.  I’ll be making her some next week so she can discover how awesome it is!  I’m a huge fried Bacon and Kale for breakfast advocate!

Groceries went smoothly.  We managed to do Superstore, Costco and Cleeves without a diaper leak! Yeah!  I’m getting good at this!

While Z played with a potato masher and some container lids, I got started getting things ready for tonight’s supper.  

I clarified some butter and made a hazelnut and spices butter blend for Salmon.  Next I prepped a butternut squash and head of garlic, made a fig balsamic vinaigrette and poached some pears.

Meal 2 

Left over Pina Colada Chicken with some broccoli and cauliflower.

I spent all afternoon cleaning the house.

Meal 3

Image

I had my friends J&A over for supper.  Our meal was straight from “It Starts With Food” FancyPantsMeal: Delicious DInner Party.  

We had Hazelnut Roasted Salmon, Butternut Squash Puree with Roasted Garlic, Green Beans With Fig Vinaigrette and for dessert Vanilla Poached Pears with Raspberry Cream (the book calls for Almond Poached Pears however).

I thought the supper was a huge success! It was all very delicious!  Unfortunately I forgot to take a photo of dessert which was light and so tasty.  I loved the Raspberry Cream although I mentioned that it would taste great on ice cream.  

Z loved the squash puree, she just couldn’t seem to get enough!

We didn’t get much chance to chat by the fire cause I had to put Z to bed and my guests had other engagements, but all in all it was a great little dinner party!

Two more days to go!

 

 

Leave a comment