Day 4.2

Breakfast: 2 eggs, 2 (questionable) slices of bacon, Kale with Macadamia nuts and raisins
Snack: Porkitos and Cherries

Lunch: Left Over Fiesta Pork Chops and Sweet Potato Coins

Dinner: Saumon à l’Afrique du Nord, Brussels Sprouts and mashed Cauliflower

Bedtime Snack: Peppermint tea

2014-08-04 18.01.08

Probably not the best food arrangement on a plate… but delicious!

Did you know that 100g of raisins has 79g of Carbohydrates?  25% of your Daily Intake?  Its pretty scary how much sugars are found in dried fruits which is one of the reason they’re not super recommended on the Whole30.  During my Crossfit’s Lifestyle Challenge we were told to avoid them completely. 

Although you could probably sit and eat a ton of grapes you probably wouldn’t be able to eat 5-6 apricots and feel good about it.  So why is it okay to eat 5-6 (or more) dried apricots?  Same idea applies with ‘healthy’ shakes.  Sure you’re getting all your fruit and veggies but could you really eat 1 cup of greens, 1 cup of milk, 5 strawberries 1 bananas and an egg in a short period of time it would take you to drink your smoothie?  The calories and glycemic index go up very quickly when you add a variety of things to you morning smoothie!  Don’t get me wrong they’re delicious, but if you’re wondering where all the calories are coming from – look no further!  My mom and a friend of mine are always reminding me not to drink all my calories when I talk about Iced Capps and McDonald’s Vanilla Chai Frappe, I have a particularly sweet spot for frozen drinks!

As I was waiting to pay for my groceries the other day, the lady behind me asked what I did with Sweet Potatoes as all she knew what to do was to use them in stews.  She caught me off guard and my response was somewhat unenthusiastic which is very much unlike me.  I had to think about what I used and nothing came to mind other than the roasted coins I make.  I told her to toss it in Olive Oil sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake it.  I mentioned how lovely they were roasted but not even once did I think of saying “Try adding cumin and cinnamon to them!  Maybe even some Chilli powder or cayenne if you like it spicy!” What about the whole concept of Fish cakes?  Where was my brain for that one?  The whole way home I couldn’t stop thinking about all the things I could have told her about sweet potatoes and feeling guilty that she may never venture from her stews.  I wish I had asked for her e-mail that way I could have bombarded her with tried and tested Sweet Potato recipes!  I’ve been thinking about her for the last 3 days now and I’m so disappointed!

One thought on “Day 4.2

  1. you are right about sweet potatoes- they are so versatile and particularly when they’re mashed. I still need to try them in a smoothie or a pancake. it’s tough to think of all the possibilities on the spot like that!

Leave a Reply

