Day 13

Breakfast: Scotch Egg

Snack: Apple with Almond Hazelnut butter

Lunch: Shepherd’s Pie

Supper + Post Workout Meal: Slow Cooker Kalua Pig, Carrots, Mashed Potatoes and cauliflower

This Slow Cooker Kalua Pig (from the Nom Nom Paleo cookbook or the link above) requires slow cooking for 16 hours!  Which means that if I want it to be ready for supper at 6pm, I need to put it on at 2am.  There’s obviously no way I’m staying up that late, and since I’m working until 4 anyways, I might as well set up an alarm to turn the slow cooker on. 

2014-08-13 01.08.02

It would be nice to have a programmable Slow Cooker, but my brother bought me this one a few years ago and it works wonders so I’m not getting a different one!  Besides, it takes less than a minute to take the pot out of the fridge put it in the cooker and turn it to low!

I was unable to find the Alea Red Hawaiian Salt in stores and also unwilling to pay $23.90 online to buy and ship it to my house.  The recipe does say that you can use any coarse salt, so I used coarse sea salt.  I’m sure it would taste all sorts of different with the Hawaiian Salt, but lets be honest.  $25 for salt?  No thanks!

 2014-08-13 18.12.17

The Roast was beautiful!  Salty and juicy even Z had a few pieces before she realized she was eating something other than fruit!  This is probably my favorite use of the slow cooker!  I know the meat will never be an inedible powdery substance even when cooked for 16 hours!  Plus I was able to walk the dogs when I got home from work supper was already taken care of!

Leave a Reply

